It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 11:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Maine Central #501 & John Smythe
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:10 am 

Hello everyone, I'm now a member of this website. I'm not looking to fight with anyone but willing to finally get to the real truth regarding why I decided to part ways with CSRX in the year 2000 after being part of the effort aimed at restoring MEC #501 to full operational condition. I worked as a volunteer between the years of 1996 to 2000 under direction of the late ( Matt Rines ) who was a 470 RR Club Trustee. Matt died in 2007 from a battle with Colon Cancer. He was a good man and I was very depressed when I learned of his death. There is a old thread / topic that seems to not exist anymore on this site that kind of nailed my hide to the wall for things that I'm not guilty of or had no hand in doing. I'll be happy to explain it all as after I left the project I kept every scrap of paper, blueprints, diagrams, letters, photos and video, etc that have anything to do do with the project.
Today is Christmas 2018 & I'm going to go downstairs to cook pancakes for my 97 year old Mom, my wonderful fiancee, Eve & myself then time to open presents and be thankful for all we have that is good despite all the evil & turmoil that is everywhere these days.
Once I get used to using the website, etc I'll be happy to engage all who wish to discuss MEC #501 project, she is the most wonderful piece of machinery that I ever worked on, I failed in my efforts to finish what I started, even more so when I offered to buy the #501 from the club in 2011 & pay for the relocation & restoration to modern FRA standards. Nobody can say I didn't try my best to acquire the #501, I came into a windfall of cash and real estate holdings after the death of my Dad, the cash was there but the leaders of the club just dug their heels in & there in N. Conway she still sits outside rusting away.