It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: sort of OT. getting into the hobby
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 8:22 pm 

I have been collecting model trains since I was 7 years old and over the years the prices have been keep going up. I'm pretty sure many of us have notice that over the years. DCC is being added to locomotives and making them $100 more expensive than those that don't have DCC I understand that collectors want that sound but for those who are trying to get into the hobby can't afford that. Budget modelers like me although I stopped buying model trains because of price and lack of time to play with them like to keep them affordable. My concern is that I don't think young people aren't interested in getting into the hobby but can't afford to. I also notice that the rising popularity of trains being made out of legos and lego clubs making trains to look realistic as possible or just having fun letting your imagination go wild. That could help get young people into trains and other interest. Many people would look at photos and use computers to design and build the lego trains to make them realistic as possible so it's possible that could turn them into railroaders or engineers. So what I'm saying is think outside the box.

Post subject: Re: sort of OT. getting into the hobby
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2023 11:36 pm