It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 6:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Top mounted regulator
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:54 pm 

Does anyone have access to drawings for a regulator mounted on the firebox wrapper instead of the backhead? I believe I've seen this type of design before, in which its a quadrant regulator, but it's pivot point turns a shaft passing through a flange in the boiler shell, which in turn is attached to an arm and the rest of the normal linkage system. I believe this would also imply that the notched teeth that give throttle positions would be fix mounted to the boiler, and not to the regulator arm as in the standard design.

Preferably looking for a Baldwin variant of the design, but honestly anything will do.

Veterantoget.dk

Post subject: Re: Top mounted regulator
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:54 pm 

I have a lot of experience with a Baldwin with the throttle lever and quadrant on the top of the wrapper in the cab and the rod running through the front wall of the cab into a gland on the steam dome. Is this what you want to know about?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:36 pm 

Hey Dave,

Thats the design I'm trying to avoid. The locomotive as designed has that and is a saddle tanker. I can imagine that if the packing gland starts to leak, it creates quite a mess and is very difficult to correct without pulling a lot apart.

That being said, if you have details and experience about what its like to maintain and operate with that design, I'd love to hear it!

Veterantoget.dk

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:44 pm